Animal Taming skill requirements

For ideas on how to make Second Age a better shard. Can it get any better? Maybe.
Forum rules
Posts in this forum are expected to be constructive, realistic and civil. Inflamatory or off topic posts will be removed.
Reena Dae

Animal Taming skill requirements

Post by Reena Dae »

I was looking over your skill listings for various tamable creatures and thought those numbers looked very familiar. Were they copied from an archived version of Stratics?

Origin never changed the minimum skill levels to tame any animal, or at least, not since I started playing (late spring 1999). Stratics always had wrong numbers and almost never took the initiative to correct the information (even if you emailed them with the corrections). I did my testing on Test Center after they implemented the ability to set your skills to an arbitrary level, and I tested each and every animal down to the exact .1. The animals with -0.9 skill requirement were confirmed after they added the incrementing skill difficulty for each additional person who tamed it.
A conversation during character creation:
Me: Do you think I should use my old character name..?
Him: I think you overestimate how famous you are. I doubt anyone remembers you anymore.

Kaivan
UOSA Donor!!
UOSA Donor!!

Re: Animal Taming skill requirements

Post by Kaivan »

Yes, the taming skill values that we use (at least in part) are from the Stratics archives.

Beyond that, we attempt to line up the minimum taming skill requirements with archived pages for the taming archive.

Speaking of which, are you and the Reena Dae for the taming archive one in the same?
UOSA Historian and former staff member: August 11, 2008 - June 19, 2016

Useful links for researching T2A Mechanics

Stratics - UO Latest Updates - Newsgroup 1 - Noctalis - UO98.org

Reena Dae

Post by Reena Dae »

Yes, my email still appears to work since I still get spam from it ;-)